Thursday, September 30, 2010

Spencer Township Candidate Forum

On Saturday, September 25, Spencer Township hosted a forum for the general election candidates. The forum was moderated by North Harrison Assistant Superintendent Dr. Ken Oppel. Many folks turned out to hear what the candidates had to say.

Here are videos of the various candidates. The format allowed for concluding remarks by each candidate after all of the candidates had spoken. Those remarks are included at the end of each candidate’s video.

In the spirit of bipartisanship, the Democratic candidates are listed below as well.

Circuit Court Judge
- John Evans, Republican
- Ron Simpson, Democrat

County Prosecutor
- Otto Schalk, Republican
- Dennis Byrd, 8-year incumbent Democrat

County Sheriff
- Rod Seelye, Republican
- Gary Gilley, Democrat

County Auditor
- Karen Shireman Engleman, Republican, was not present because her nephew's wedding was that evening
- Heather Metcalf, Democrat

County Assessor
- Rena Stepro, 4-year incumbent Democrat, is unchallenged and was not present

County Treasurer
- Teresa Sutton, Republican, was not present
- Carol Hauswald, 4-year incumbent Democrat, was not present

County Commissioner
- Jim Klinstiver, Republican
- Terry Miller, 17-year incumbent Democrat

County Council District #1
- Phil Smith, Republican
- Leslie Robertson, 4-year incumbent Democrat

County Council District #2
- Gary Davis, Republican, was out of town and was not able to be present
- Robert Morris, incumbent Democrat

Council candidates from districts #3 (Jeremy Shireman, Republican, and Gordon Pendleton, 4-year incumbent Democrat) and #4 (Ralph Sherman, 16-year incumbent Republican, and Andy Eschbacher, Democrat) were not present as their council districts are in a different area of the county.

State Senate District #47
- Ted Metzger, Republican, was not present
- Richard Young, 16-year incumbent Democrat

State Representative District #70
- Rhonda Rhoads, Republican
- Paul Robertson, 32-year incumbent Democrat

Thanks to Donnie Satterfield, Spencer Township Trustee, and Dr. Oppel for putting on the candidate forum and thanks to all of the candidates who came out to speak.