Saturday, January 11, 2014

Filing Begins for the 2014 Election

Candidate filing began this past Wednesday for individuals wanting to seek office in the 2014 election. Filing is done at the Harrison County Clerk’s Office at the Courthouse downtown in Corydon.

Many of your Republican elected officials and candidates filed for election first thing Wednesday morning, at 8:00 a.m. right when the Clerk’s office opened for business. Some photos of the Republicans filing are available here.

Rod Seelye, who filed for re-election as county sheriff in the photo above, was the first candidate to sign the new election filing book. The previous book was used from 1937 to 2012.

The following offices are on the ballot in 2014 (with the Republican candidates as of Friday, January 10, so far listed below them).

State Senate
--H. Lloyd “Tad” Whitis

State Representative
--Rhonda Rhoads

Superior Court Judge
--Joe Claypool

Prosecuting Attorney
--Otto Schalk

--no candidate filed yet

--Karen Engleman

Commisioner, District #3
--no candidate filed yet

--Rod Seelye

--Debbie Dones

Council, District #1
--Phil Smith

Council, District #2
--Gary Davis

Council District #3
--no candidate filed yet

Council District #4
--Ralph Sherman

Additionally, trustees and advisory board members are up for election in all of Harrison County’s twelve townships. Each township has one trustee and three advisory board members.

Please feel free to contact us if you would like more information about running for office.

The deadline for filing to run is Friday, February 7, at noon.