Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Caucus Information for Harrison Township Board Vacancy

The Harrison County Republican Central Committee will caucus on Saturday, January 25, at 10:00 a.m. at the Harrison County Government Center in Corydon for the purposes of filling the vacancy on the Harrison Township Advisory Board created by the resignation of Lester Rhoads, who was elected to the Corydon Town Council for Ward 3.

Only precinct committee members from Harrison Township may vote in this caucus. Precinct vice committee members may vote as proxies for their absent precinct committee member.

Voting will be by private ballot and will continue until one candidate has reached a majority of the precinct committee members and proxies that are present.

Indiana law empowers the county chairman to break a tie if one exists, but the county chairman will not be exercising this authority. Voting will continue until the tie is broken by the committee members and their proxies.

Once the caucus has selected who will fill the vacancy, the county chairman will certify the result to the Circuit Court Clerk. Harrison Circuit Court Judge John Evans will be on hand that morning to swear in whoever is chosen to fill the vacancy.

Individuals interested in seeking the vacancy must file a written declaration of candidacy (CEB-5 form) with Harrison County Republican Party Chairman Scott Fluhr no later than 72 hours before the caucus, in this case by Wednesday, January 22 at 10:00 a.m. Individuals interested in seeking the Harrison Township Advisory Board position can contact him via email address on the right. The necessary forms are available from the Circuit Court Clerk's office or via the aforementioned email address.

The caucus meeting on the morning of January 25 will be open to the public.