Saturday, January 25, 2020

Harrison Township Board Caucus Results

The Harrison Township members of the Harrison County Republican Central Committee met in caucus on Saturday, January 25, at 10:00 a.m. at the Harrison County Government Center in Corydon for the purposes of filling the vacancy created by the resignation of Lester Rhoads from the Harrison Township Advisory Board. Rhoads was elected this past November to the Ward 3 seat on the Corydon Town Council, and resigned from the Advisory Board effective December 31.

Seven (out of eleven) precinct committeemen were present. One candidate filed a declaration indicating an interest in seeking the position.

The candidate was Rhonda Rhoads, who has served previously as an at-large county council member and as State Representative for District 70, representing most of Harrison County.

The caucus selected Rhoads to fill the vacancy. A formal vote was required to take place under Indiana state law even though she was unopposed. The vote was unanimous.

The Honorable John Evans, Judge of the Harrison Circuit Court, was on hand to swear in Rhonda Rhoads after the vote.