Sunday, August 13, 2023

Lanesville Town Convention Notice

A Republican town convention will be held on Saturday, August 19, at 10:00 a.m. at the Lanesville school cafeteria for the purposes of selecting the three Republican nominees for the three at-large Lanesville Town Council seats. The four Republican town council candidates are Eric Pavey, James Powers, Herb Schneider, and Tom Walter.
Under Indiana law, towns with fewer than 3,500 residents—such as Lanesville—do not hold primary elections. Rather, a political party’s nominees for the November election, when contested, are selected at a town convention held by that party. No other candidates besides these four Republicans filed for the town council election, so the three winners of the Republican convention will take office on January 1.
The convention is open to voters living within the Lanesville town limits (the Franklin Lanesville precinct) who have voted Republican in their most recent primary election according to the voter files of the Harrison County Clerk, and are not a member of another party. Individuals who are not members of another political party and sign a sworn statement to support the Republican ticket in the November election may also participate in the convention.
By law, town conventions require in-person voting and do not allow absentee or early voting. Participants will also need to show valid photo identification, in accordance with Indiana's Voter ID Law.